Beaverlog Tips: Volume 31 - January 22, 2006

Tips and Tricks

This issue will contain some short tips and tricks rather than a longer article on a single topic.

Window Sizes and Positions

When you open most of the windows in The THERAPIST, the program will remember their position, and in some cases, their sizes, from the last time that window was opened. This is a terrific feature and lets you personalize, in a small way, how you work with The THERAPIST. Some times, however, it would be nice to reset these windows to their original sizes and positions and The THERAPIST gives you two ways to do that.

To reset the sizes and positions for all windows in the program, close all open windows then and select Window > Reset Windows Sizes. This will actually delete a small text file that is used to track window sizes and positions. When you next open any window, it will be in its original size and default position on your screen.

To reset a single window, hold down either the Ctrl, Alt, or Shift key when you close the window. No other windows will be affected. When you next open that window, it will be in its original size and position on your screen.

Turning Messages On or Off

The THERAPIST has many messages used to alert you to problems, call attention to unusual situations, ask you for a decision, or otherwise annoy you. Some of these messages are critical and others "merely" beneficial. You can turn off those that are not critical by going to:

Setup > Security > Users > {edit selected user} > Options tab

At the bottom of the screen is an option to display all messages or system messages only. We recommend that you leave this set to All messages, at least until you are quite familiar with the program since disabling all but system messages will prevent you from seeing some messages that are quite helpful.

Several system messages include a check box labeled Do not show this message in the future. By checking this box when selecting a message button you will not see this message again. If a message that is no longer displayed has buttons corresponding to different choices, the default button choice will be enacted. The option to show or hide a message is part of each login user's settings which, if you have the appropriate security rights, you can access by going to:

Setup > Security > Users > {edit selected user} > Options tab

Clicking on the Reset messages button will turn on all messages you have previously turned off. This will let you see the messages again next time they come up. By holding down either the the Ctrl, Alt, or Shift key when you click this button will do the reverse; it will turn off all messages before you have had a chance to see them. This is usually a bad idea since these messages are important.

Report Page Images

When you preview a report on the screen before or instead of printing it, each report page is created as a temporary graphic image file in the folder Windows specifies for temporary files. On Windows XP this is c:\Documents and Settings\<User Name>\Local Settings\Temp where <User Name> is the name of the logged in user. On other versions of Windows, they may be stored in c:\Windows\Temp, c:\WinNT\Temp, or some other folder. You can find the Windows temporary folder from within The THERAPIST by going to:

Help > About The THERAPIST > [Information button] > Paths tab

The files will be named CLA###.tmp where ### is a three or four digit number. The numbers will be sequential but do not necessarily start with 001. You can see these files while the report preview is on the screen. These are actually Windows Metafiles and you can copy them elsewhere. Renaming the copies with a .wmf extension will allow you to open them in a graphic file editor or include them in a word processing document. In Windows Explorer you can double-click on a Windows Metafile, so long as it has the .wmf extension, and Windows will open it with your default image editor.

Once you close the previewer, Windows deletes the temporary files, at least it is supposed to. Sometimes the Windows temporary folder accumulates files that should have been removed but do not get deleted for reasons unknown. If too many temporary preview page files have accumulated, reports can not be previewed and sometimes cannot not be printed.

Easter Egg

In software circles, an Easter Egg refers to a hidden and undocumented feature of a program that is there more for fun than functionality. It is most commonly used to show you a list of the people who were instrumental in creating the program. Alas, we are not immune from the need for recognition so The THERAPIST has one of these little goodies waiting for you to find it. It's not too well hidden and you don't need to know the secret key combinations to activate it. Here's a hint: you'll have to learn something about The THERAPIST to find it. Sorry, but you will have to wait until the next newsletter for the solution.